From A Vessel

From A Vessel….

Set me on the shelf, but never let me go;
A finished mended vessel filled with inner glow;
Of this earth and soil came,
Clay to form a jar;
Spoiled by the elements my walls began to scar;
Crack by crack my wear displayed spoiling my beauty,
Little did I realize I saw not how you see;
For what I took as perfect form,
You longed for me to not conform,
To what degrades and what destroys,
Filled with earthly fleeting toys,
But in your hands if I would fall,
Heeding to your Potter’s call,
A mending love through sacrifice,
Provides for me to be formed twice,
Born a new upon your wheel,
In your hands I learn to heal;
The jar that was it is no more,
A Spirit now deep in my core has given me a new design,
A call, a cry, a mighty sign;
To all the hurting, cracked, and scarred,
Jars of earth who find it hard to bear the weight of life and death,
Fall to him who gave you breath;
For on his wheel you must be made in image of a Son that laid and rose again in victory,
All for Him and His glory.
Set me on the shelf, but never let me go;
A finished mended vessel filled with inner glow.

Leave a Reply

